HOMESTEAD, Fla. (AP) --  Oh, what a consolation prize.

Toyota went 0 for 5 in the Chase _ and 0 for 2 in the NASCAR championship finale _ to squash its hope of having a repeat driver's champion.

Joe Gibbs Racing drivers Carl Edwards and Kyle Busch failed to win the Sprint Cup title on Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Busch was trying to win back-to-back championships.

JGR drivers Matt Kenseth and Denny Hamlin, and Furniture Row Racing's Martin Truex Jr. were eliminated earlier in the Chase.

Toyota did win its first manufacturer's championship in its 10th Cup season.

Toyota Camry drivers won 16 of 36 races to clinch the title. Toyota has now secured the manufacturer's championship in all three NASCAR national touring series.

Toyota also clinched the Truck Series manufacturer's title and the Xfinity Series title to put away Chevrolet and Ford.

"Capturing our first Cup Series manufacturer's title is a tremendous accomplishment, and one that has been a goal for Toyota since entering the series 10 years ago as underdogs in this ultra-competitive series," said Ed Laukes, vice president of marketing at Toyota.

Busch and Truex won four times, Edwards had three wins and Hamlin and Kenseth each won twice.

Chevrolet driver Jimmie Johnson won the 2016 Sprint Cup championship.