FORT WORTH, Texas (AP) — NASCAR has penalized 12 Sprint Cup teams for reporting late to the inspection line at Martinsville Speedway.

The penalty is the loss of the first 15 minutes of practice the next week, so the offending teams were forced to sit out at the start of Friday's session at Texas Motor Speedway.

"To be fair to the garage, you have to maintain schedules and equal opportunities to work on your cars," said NASCAR vice president of competition Robin Pemberton. "We're more structured this year with getting our cars through inspection, getting them out on the line for qualifying. So to be fair to all the competitors, we have certain timeframes which you're allowed to work on your car, when you have to be out of the garage and getting ready for qualifying."

The drivers penalized Friday were: Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Landon Cassill, Cole Whitt, Michael Annett, Martin Truex Jr., Reed Sorenson, Clint Bowyer, Parker Kigerman and Kyle Larson.

The order by which teams must go through qualifying inspection is determined by random draw. The 15-minute penalty begins when the driver leaves the garage and gets to pit road to go on the track.

NASCAR holds the drivers on pit road for 15 minutes.

There were 110 minutes of practice time Friday night at Texas, and 90 minutes on Saturday before qualifying.